Home » ASN News
EU removes Moldova from blacklist, adds
5 December 2021

The European Commission recently updated the EU Air Safety List which is the list of airlines that are subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union as they do not meet international safety standards.

With this update, all airlines certified in Moldova have been removed from the EU Air Safety List, following improvements to aviation safety in the country. One Russian air carrier, Skol Airline, has however been added to the List, due to concerns about its ability to comply with international standards.

Currently 97 airlines are banned from EU skies:

  • 90 airlines certified in 15 states (Afghanistan, Angola (with the exception of 2 airlines), Armenia, Congo (Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Nepal, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone and Sudan), due to inadequate safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states;
  • Seven individual airlines, based on serious safety deficiencies identified: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria), Skol Airline LLC (Russia) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

An additional two airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).