Home » ASN News
Avior Airlines added to European black list
1 December 2017

The European Commission updated the EU Air Safety List, adding Avior Airlines (Venezuela), to the list.

Avior Airlines (certified in Venezuela) is added to the list due to unaddressed safety deficiencies that were detected by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) during the assessment for a third country operator authorisation (TCO).

Two airlines were removed from the list: Mustique Airways of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Aviation Company Urga (Ukraine) because they made sufficient safety improvements since their inclusion to the Air Safety List in May 2017.

Following the update, a total of 178 airlines are banned from EU skies:
172 airlines certified in 16 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.
Six individual airlines, based on safety concerns with regard to these airlines themselves: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).
An additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

More information: