Home » ASN News
EU updates black list, clearing Air Madagascar, Citilink, Lion Air and Batik Air
17 June 2016

The European Commission updated the EU Air Safety List, clearing Zambia, Air Madagascar, Citilink, Lion Air and Batik Air from the list.

The Air Safety List contains airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are therefore subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.
Following the update, all airlines certified in Zambia are cleared from the list, along with Air Madagascar and three airlines certified in Indonesia: Citilink, Lion Air and Batik Air. In addition most aircraft of Iran Air are allowed to resume operations to the EU.

A total of 216 airlines are now banned from EU skies: 214 airlines certified in 19 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.
Two individual airlines, based on safety concerns: Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname).
An additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).