Home » ASN News
EASA issued first air safety authorisations to non-EU airlines
2 July 2015

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) issued the first single air safety authorisations to 22 non-EU airlines. These certifications will be valid throughout the EU.

By November 2016, all non-EU airlines wishing to fly to the EU will be required to hold such authorisation certifying their compliance with international safety standards. This replaces the different national authorisations with a single document, issued by EASA.

This new system complements the two existing EU-wide tools to prevent unsafe airlines from operating in the EU: the air safety list, and the system for aircraft ramp inspections SAFA (Safety Assessment of Foreign Aircraft).

The new authorisation system does not apply to EU airlines, which are still subject to safety oversight and certification by National Aviation Authorities.

The 22 so called ‘third country operators’ (TCO’s) that are now authorises, are:

  1. Aeroflot Russian Airlines
  2. Aerovías de México (Aeroméxico)
  3. Air New Zealand
  4. All Nippon Airways
  5. Delta Air Lines
  6. El Al Israel Airlines
  7. Emirates Airline
  8. Etihad Airways
  9. Japan Airlines
  10. Korean Air
  11. MNG Airlines
  12. Nippon Cargo Airlines
  13. Oman Air
  14. Orenburg Airlines
  15. Pegasus Airlines
  16. Qantas Airways
  17. Qatar Airways
  18. Singapore Airlines
  19. South African Airways
  20. Sun Express
  21. TAM Linhas Aereas
  22. United Airlines

More information: