Home » ASN News
European Commission updates list of air carriers subject to an operating ban
21 November 2011

The European Commission has adopted the eighteenth update of the list of airlines banned in the European Union. Thanks to further improvements in the safety performance of TAAG Angolan Airlines the air carrier is allowed to add two aircraft to those operating into the EU. The Commission was compelled to impose operating restrictions to exclude part of the fleet of Jordan Aviation in view of numerous and repeated safety deficiencies and to ban fully all operations of the air carrier Rollins Air certified in Honduras.

With this update , the TAAG Angolan Airlines is allowed to operate into the EU two Boeing 777-300 aircraft shown to be managed safely by the air carrier which oversees their operations appropriately .

There were  concerns with the performance of Albanian air carriers and their authorities. Following the formal commitment of Albanian authorities to employ full time qualified personnel to ensure the continuous surveillance of air carriers under their regulatory authority and coupled with very strong enforcement measures – revocation of the air operator’s certificate of Albanian Airlines and the removal of one aircraft from the fleet of Belle Air – no measures were deemed necessary. Member States and in particular Italy have accepted to further enhance their ongoing cooperation with Albania by providing technical assistance focusing on improving oversight.

In order to ensure that there were no risks for safety from the operations of certain air carriers, the Commission decided to impose operating restrictions on Jordan Aviation and to exclude three aircraft of type Boeing 767 from its fleet operating into the EU.

Following information received from France regarding the safety of the air carrier Rollins Air certified in Honduras, the Commission decided to impose an operating ban on all operations of Rollins Air pending the resolution of the various significant safety issues that were first raised by France.

Furthermore, the list now includes air carriers which have been certified by the aviation authorities of the Republic of Congo (Equatorial Congo), of the Democratic Republic of Congo (Stellar Airways) and of the Philippines (Aeromajestic and Interisland Airlines) not having received the necessary documented evidence that these carriers comply with international safety standards.

The Commission has examined three air carriers certified in the Russian Federation – VIM Avia, Yakutia and Tatarstan Airlines. Because of measures adopted the Russian aviation authorities, the Commission has decided to refrain from imposing an operating ban.

More information:


Tags: , ,