Home » ASN News
EU adds airlines from Benin, Kazakhstan, Thailand, and Ukraine to blacklist
8 April 2009

The European Commission today adopted the update of the so-called blacklist of airlines that are banned from flying into the European Union due to safety concerns. The Commission has imposed a ban on six airlines from Kazakhstan, one airline certified in Thailand, one additional Ukrainian air carrier and on operations of all carriers certified in Benin.
The following carriers are involved:
* Air Company Kokshetau, ATMA Airlines, Berkut Air, East Wing, Sayat Air and Starline KZ (Kazakhstan)
* One Two Go Airlines (Thailand)
* Motor Sich Airlines (Ukraine)
* All airlines certified in the Republic of Benin on the basis of the negative results of an audit by the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO).

The Commission noted good progress in relation to the measures taken by Angola in order to improve the safety situation. In particular, it took note of the progress report drawn up by the aviation authorities of Angola on the implementation of corrective actions following the visit of a team of European experts in February 2008 and the publication of the ICAO safety audit report in October 2008.

A report of the visit of a European team of experts to Indonesia in February 2009 showed considerable improvements. The Commission will continue close consultations with the aviation authorities with a view to re-assessing the safety situation at the next meeting of the Air Safety Committee. (EU)