Home » ASN News
Russia to ban four airlines from operating to EU
20 June 2007

Four Russian carriers are set to be banned from operating to the European Union as of June 25, while five other carriers will face restrictions on their operations.
Russia`s federal transport authority Rostransnadzor and air transport agency Rosaviatsiya have proposed banning Kavminvodyavia (KMV), Yakutia Airlines, Kuban Airlines and Airlines 400. The action follows advisories from the European Commission to Russian authorities concerning the carriers` non-compliance with EU air safety requirements; the nature of these has not been disclosed. The decision also places operational restrictions on KrasAir, Ural Airlines, Atlant-Soyuz, UTAir and industrial transport specialist Gazpromavia. These restrictions centre on aircraft types used for flights into Europe. (Flight)